Department Chairs Council Constitution and Bylaws

Adopted 11/19/87 Revised 9/10/91 Revised 4/19/2000 Revised 2/09/2007 Adopted 5/1/2007 Revised 5/2008 Revised 6/2014

1. Purpose

The Department Chairs Council shall discuss and establish positions on matters of University concern with particular implications for academic departments and programs of the University. The Council shall provide for communication between the department chairs as a group and the administration, faculty and staff, and students of Iowa State University, other organized groups, and individuals. It shall facilitate the exchange of information, insights, and concerns among department chairs.

II. Function

The Department Chairs Council shall collect, compile and disseminate information, deliberate and make recommendations on matters of concern to the President of the University, the Senior Vice President and Provost, Vice Presidents, Deans, the Faculty Senate, the Professional and Scientific Council, the Government of the Student Body, other organized groups, and individuals. The Department Chairs Council shall act as an advocate for the welfare of the University for matters that impact and are enacted at the Department level.

III. Membership

The members shall consist of the department chairs of academic departments of the University, and the Senior Vice President and Provost and Faculty Senate President as exofficio non-voting members.

IV. Officers

The officers of the Council shall consist of a Chairperson and the Department Chairs Cabinet. A secretary shall be appointed by the chairperson.

V. The Department Chairs Cabinet

The Cabinet shall consist of one member from each of the colleges in the University and the Library, and four members elected at-large. A chairperson will be elected by the Cabinet and h/she shall serve as the chairperson of the Cabinet and Council. It shall have standing and ad-hoc committees as provided by the bylaws.

Each cabinet member will be elected for a three-year term and may be reelected for an additional three-year term by the Cabinets of each undergraduate college.

Department Chairs Cabinet Bylaws Revised 9/10/91 Revised 4/19/2000 Revised 2/09/2007 Revised 5/2008

- I. Following the announcement of the Spring election results, the new Cabinet will elect its new chairperson. The maximum continuous term of office as Cabinet Chairperson shall be three years.
- II. If a Cabinet member cannot complete a term of office, the vacancy will be filled by election within the College where the vacancy occurs. At large members who cannot complete a term will be replaced by the Department Chairs Cabinet.
- III. The Cabinet shall meet monthly from September through April. The Senior Vice President and Provost (or designee) and the President of the Faculty Senate (or designee) shall attend the monthly Cabinet meetings as ex-officio non-voting members. Special meetings of the Cabinet may be called by the Chairperson.
- IV. A quorum at any regular meeting of the Cabinet shall be constituted by a majority of the Cabinet's voting membership.
- V. The agenda for each meeting shall be established by the Chairperson and shall include all items submitted for inclusion by any member of the Cabinet, or as recommended at the Department Chairs Council meetings.
- VI. The Chairperson, with approval of the Cabinet, may from time to time establish subcommittees, task forces and ad hoc committees to investigate items of interest and make recommendations to the Cabinet. The Cabinet will vigorously take the opportunity to influence the University community and administration.
- VII. The Chairperson of the Cabinet and the Council shall, at the conclusion of each academic year, file with the President, and the Senior Vice President and Provost of the University a report of the Council and Cabinet's activities. This report shall be distributed to all members of the Department Chairs Council.
- VIII. The rules contained in the current edition of *Robert's Rules of Order* shall govern the Cabinet in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with these bylaws and any special rules of order the Cabinet may from time-to-time adopt.
- IX. These bylaws may be amended by two-thirds vote of those Department Chairs Council members voting by a written ballot.